5 Things I wish I knew before getting a Dog

Ashaz
4 min readNov 19, 2020

--

Dogs! Dogs are man’s best friend. Yeah, Some of them might look like wolves but whatever! Who are we to judge?

Many of us including me have them as pets. about 89.9 million Americans own dogs. But what many dog owners don’t tell you about owning a dog are the following.

1. They are not always calm.

Sure a lot of them don’t bark at their owners but their energy is through the roof and handling that amount of energy especially as a first time owner, It’s a challenge to say the least.

Training can help but if your puppy is a brat like mine then it ain’t gonna work. Some other ways of channelizing their energy are exercising them, petting them and encouraging good behavior.

2. They can also fall sick.

One thing that I didn’t know about my dog was that his left leg was weak by birth. As I mentioned my dog was a brat so he would run around the yard and fall over from time to time. He would easily get up. But one day. I noticed that he was not placing one of his foot on the ground, I thought it was a temporary issue. It wasn’t.

We got him X-rayed and found out that he had a weak bone since birth but the running had made it worse. The vet said that he would recover in 2 weeks. I felt really sad and sorry for him. He had low energy level due to the injury and he felt sleepy because of the medicines. He didn’t recover in 2 weeks. We took a trip back to the vet and more medicines and stuff like that were prescribed. Slowly but Surely he recovered after 2 months. Don’t make the same mistake as I did, please take care of their health.

3. They shouldn’t be eating everything.

I didn’t know at first that my dog should not be eating certain things. My Grandma used to give my puppy treats such as pieces of bread, biscuits and nuts. I thought that it was okay to give him stuff like this as treats. But, I soon realized that these treats had a very bad effect on my dog’s health. He vomited and we took him to the the vet.

The vet told us that these treats can have a devastating effect on my dog’s health and instead we should be giving him special treats that are specially made for dogs.

4. Bite marks and scratches.

During my dog’s first week in my house he was nervous and scared. But as time went on he became familiar with me, my family and my house.

He loved biting my arms and legs because he was teething. Yeah, Like every other day I had a bite mark. Chew toys didn’t work so I started wearing like really thick jackets so that my arms wouldn’t get ruined. But you know what did get ruined my jacket. Aahhhhhh……. Just find a solution to this by yourself. if you do find a solution please share it with me.

5. Not everyone is comfortable with a dog.

Yeah that’s right. Not everyone is okay with being 10 feet near a dog.

Children would run away from my dog, my sister would run away from my dog and even my neighborhood guard would be scared of my dog. What were they trying to say about my dog? huh? I mean he is not that scary. He is just like a year old. But whatever, I guess.

Thank You For Reading. Please Note: Whatever I say about my dog is true but I really do love him. If you want check out my dog on instagram then click here.

--

--

Ashaz

I write stories on wattpad and articles about different topics like tech, games, Travel and much more